Second test opens in Barcelona

Second test opens in Barcelona

18 APR 2017

GP3 reforms for two day run in Spain

The 2017 GP3 Series season restarts tomorrow for the second pre-season test, to be held at the Circuit de Catalunya-Barcelona on 19-20 April. The teams and drivers will use the 2 day test to continue preparations for the opening race of the season, at the same circuit on 12-14 May.

The first test of the season was at the Circuito de Estoril on 22-23 March, which saw a number of drivers share the honours over the two days. Newcomer Raoul Hyman signed for the test with Campos Racing and set the early running, topping the first day’s morning session as the only driver on slick tyres during a rain affected session, easily ahead of Niko Kari and Santino Ferrucci.

The afternoon session saw the sun return, and with it George Russell put his ART car on the top of the timesheets with a 1:27.606, just ahead of teammate Nirei Fukuzumi and the morning’s leader Hyman, with the Brit easily topping the day’s running.

The Briton topped the next morning’s session, once again heavily affected by rain, to lead out teammate Anthoine Hubert and Alessio Lorandi at Jenzer, while the afternoon’s session was again grabbed by an ART driver, this time Jack Aitken in mixed conditions, meaning Russell topped the session with his first afternoon’s time.

The teams will be hoping for better weather to allow them to have a more useful test in Barcelona, and will once again have access to the new for 2017 Drag Reduction System (DRS), albeit restricted to use only within the 2 nominated DRS zones, as is usual in FIA Formula 2 and F1. As usual all drivers will be allowed 7 sets of Pirelli’s medium compound for the test, and 3 sets of wets.

The sessions will start each day at 09:00 local time and run until 12:00: on Wednesday the afternoon session will run from 14:00 to 17:00, while on Thursday this will be pushed forward an hour to 13:00 before closing at 16:00.

GP3 Series – Estoril Test Session: Drivers’ Entry List

ART Grand Prix

1.  Jack Aitken

2. Nirei Fukuzumi

3. George Russell

4. Anthoine Hubert

Arden International

5. Niko Kari

6. Leonardo Pulcini

7. Steijn Schothurst


8. Kevin Joerg

9. Giuliano Alesi

10. Ryan Tveter

11. Dorian Boccolacci


14. Santino Ferrucci

15. Tatiana Calderón

16. Bruno Baptista

Jenzer Motorsport

22. Alessio Lorandi

24. Arjun Maini

Campos Racing

26. Julien Falchero

27. Raoul Hyman

28. Marcos Seibert